CyberLink Community Forum
PowerDirector 11 won't produce ANY project past a certain %mark  XML
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Author Message
HerrIgor

Newbie

Joined: 12/04/2013 16:03:30
Messages: 2
Offline

Greetings everyone,

After upgrading from the PD10 to PD11 yesterday the new software won't produce ANY of my projects past the 62-64% mark. It will just hang there forever it seems.

Uninstalled and re-installed four times already, tried several Nvidia drivers (ranging from 296.10 to the latest 314.22), updated all video and audio codecs I could think of, prioritize the PD11 to real time, set CUDA on and off but none of that worked. Very frustrated right now and out of ideas to be honest.

The worst part is that if I revert back to PD10 I'm able to produce as perfectly as before BUT now many of my files are being tag as being unsupported by the software... by the very same software that I used to edit and produce them countless times before in the first place.

I'd appreciate some help. Thanks in advance!

Igor
[Thumb - PR11.jpg]
 Filename PR11.jpg [Disk] Download
 Description Example
 Filesize 529 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  86 time(s)

 Filename DxDiag.txt [Disk] Download
 Description DX Diag
 Filesize 41 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  68 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 13/04/2013 10:05:14

garioch7

Senior Contributor

Joined: 07/02/2011 03:45:48
Messages: 671
Location: Port Hood, Nova Scotia, Canada
Offline

Igor:

I took a look at your dxdiag file. The only possible issue I see there is that your video driver is older. I am running twin GTX 580s in SLI and my drivers are dated February 2013 and work well with PD11.

The only other suggestion that I can offer is to uninstall and reinstall QuickTime. PD does like to relate to the latest version of QuickTime.

Hopefully others may come up with more concrete suggestions. Have a great day.

Regards,
-Phil

Windows 7 Professional x64
MainGear Shift
Intel CoreT i7 3.5/3.9 2700K (Overclocked to 4.5)
16 GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3-1600 RAM
2x600 GB WD VelociRaptor Drives (RAID0)
2xNVIDIA GeForce GTX 580 (3GB Total GDDR5 in SLI)
PD12 Ultimate x64, Build 3403
[WWW]
HerrIgor

Newbie

Joined: 12/04/2013 16:03:30
Messages: 2
Offline

Thanks for the quick reply Phil!

I installed again the latest 314.22 nvidia driver and also updated the QuickTime to the 7.7.3. Also took the opportunity to uninstall everything again, applied the CLCleaner for both PD10 and PD11, installed PD10, update it, installed and updated the PD11 upgrade but no deal.

The problem still persist. ;(

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 13/04/2013 11:21:17

BarryTheCrab

Senior Contributor

Joined: 06/11/2008 19:18:48
Messages: 3934
Location: North Attleboro, MA, USA
Offline

Can you take one of the sample videos, or even several images, and try to produce that? What happens?
Have you tried to produce to more than 1 certain filetype?
Windows has sample videos also, most of us have those if you decide to try them.
Do you have a short 5-10 unedited, unaltered clip of the same source you are trying to edit? Please attach.
While we're at it, what IS the source?

My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS, Cyberlink Sales & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 660(1.5GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/W8.1x64---PCBnmk 3664.6
HP Pavilion DV7t-3000/17.4"/i7_820QM(4@1.73~turbo>3.06)/Nvidia GT230M(1g)CUDA/8GB DDR3/7,200rpm/W7x64
Canon Vixia HV30/HFM40/HFM41/Olympus EPL-1(4/3rds)/Nikon L110/Fuji W3-3D/Smith-Victor lights
[Email] [WWW]
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 10403
Offline

Hi HerrIgor,
Thank you for the attachments.
I'd like to follow up on what both, garioch7 and BarryTheCrab have observed and requested.
Your system appears to be quite a capable set up for video editing, number crunching and game playing. Looking at what the issue is I think there is either a corruption of the file, corrupt installation or something we haven't "twigged" yet. You've been asked to provide a sample file - that would be ideal to test out. I see you've installed as an upgrade from PD10 where you didn't incur any issues.
OK, I'd like you to uninstall PDR11 via the Control Panel
Uninstall QuickTime via the control panel
Uninstall Wave Editor via the control panel
Clear out the Windows temp directory.
You will have your activation key for PDR10 and PDR11 - you'll need them both.
Go to the upgrade executable for PDR11 and initiate the installation.
When asked input the PDR10 activation key.
When asked upon activating, add the PDR11 activation key.

Place one of the Sample (Nature.mpg) into Track 1 and then select the Produce UI.

At this stage I need to know what you're selecting, Run with mpeg 4 and a 1920x1080 29.97fps for this test.

What happens? What is the result?

PDS files are not reverse compatible, PDR11 files can not be opened in PDR10.

Dafydd

HerrIgor wrote:Thanks for the quick reply Phil!
I installed again the latest 314.22 nvidia driver and also updated the QuickTime to the 7.7.3. Also took the opportunity to uninstall everything again, applied the CLCleaner for both PD10 and PD11, installed PD10, update it, installed and updated the PD11 upgrade but no deal.

The problem still persist. ;(

BarryTheCrab wrote:Can you take one of the sample videos, or even several images, and try to produce that? What happens?
Have you tried to produce to more than 1 certain filetype?
Windows has sample videos also, most of us have those if you decide to try them.
Do you have a short 5-10 unedited, unaltered clip of the same source you are trying to edit? Please attach.
While we're at it, what IS the source?

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
SmilingBob

Newbie

Joined: 31/08/2013 12:13:52
Messages: 5
Offline

I'm having a similar issue. I purchased a new copy of PowerDirector 11 Ultra, downloaded and installed the fresh copy on my machine.

This is a new laptop which was upgraded to the latest drivers prior to installation. Here are the specs:

Windows 8 Home Premium x64
Core i7 3630QM @ 2.4GHz (with stepping up to 3.4GHz)
32GB DDR3 RAM @ 1600MHz
Nvidia GTX 675MX /w 4GB DDR5 VRAM

I'd occasionally run into stability issues on previous versions of Power Director 7-9 on my old computer, but in this case, I've yet to be able to produce one movie successfully.

I've tried several 1920 x 1080 resolution formats including MPEG-4, MOV and H.264 with no luck. I've tried with and without preview and with and without hardware acceleration (turning this off just means it takes longer to fail).

Given that it was a clean install with no errors or warnings, and there doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the source files, could there be problems with PowerDirector itself?
BarryTheCrab

Senior Contributor

Joined: 06/11/2008 19:18:48
Messages: 3934
Location: North Attleboro, MA, USA
Offline

Smiling Bob,
we welcome you and your off-putting avatar to the forum.
I suggest you start a new thread and provide for us a dxdiag to analyze your computer.
http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/24771.page
Please provide part A and Part B, in a new thread.
Similar problems can have very different causes.

My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS, Cyberlink Sales & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 660(1.5GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/W8.1x64---PCBnmk 3664.6
HP Pavilion DV7t-3000/17.4"/i7_820QM(4@1.73~turbo>3.06)/Nvidia GT230M(1g)CUDA/8GB DDR3/7,200rpm/W7x64
Canon Vixia HV30/HFM40/HFM41/Olympus EPL-1(4/3rds)/Nikon L110/Fuji W3-3D/Smith-Victor lights
[Email] [WWW]
SmilingBob

Newbie

Joined: 31/08/2013 12:13:52
Messages: 5
Offline

Hi Barry,

Thank you for the welcome, I appreciate your help and guidance. As you suggested, I've created a new post here using the template you suggested. I also submitted a ticket through Cyberlink's official support and will be sure to pass along any additional details they provide for me.

Thanks again.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 01/09/2013 07:14:44

 
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS