CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
1) SVRT "Production unsuccessful"; 2) Hardware video encoder option unavailable
Reply to this topic
MarkJ99
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 03, 2013 03:51 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
I've just started using Powerdirector 11 (updated to 11.0.0.2516) to edit H.264 (1920x1080p) video. And so far, it's been going fairly well.

I'm not an aspiring "Director"; and mainly just want to make cuts w/o re-encoding. Not only is that much faster; but more importantly, it results in a higher quality video, since it avoids re-encoding... with a lossy codec!

Even the freeware Avidemux can do this, so I didn't think PowerDirector would have any trouble. And it seems like PD11 thinks it can do it. After all, the 'Intelligent SVRT' dialog does pick the correct matching codec and sets the correct parameters. And the "Fast video rendering technology" [X] SVRT button can be selected.

But when I start the (non-rendering!) render, it always fails with the same error:
Production unsuccessful. Please ensure your graphics card driver is up-to-date, and update to the latest version of Windows Media Player or Quicktime Software. You can also try to output the production in a different video format


I'm running on an Intel Core I7, with a current Windows XP sp3; and have dutifully updated my AMD Radeon 4850 video driver. And I've installed the latest Apple "Quicktime" software. But I still can't make it work.

And since simple cutting doesn't work, it would be nice to use my GPU's hardware to encode. But for some reason the 'Hardware video encoder' option is NOT selectable; even though AMD claims the 4850 is capable of this.

Do these features actually work? Or am I chasing vaporware? :

Thanks for any suggestions anybody might have.
Reply
Eugen157
Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 525 Offline
[Post New]
I would wonder if XP can handle this. For video editing some AMD users have problems.

One of the main reasons I use PD11 is the SVRT feature, it allows me to maintain the original camera 1080 P60 quality that is then burned to BR with external software.

My specs are at the bottom. Works virtually flawlessly.

Eugene

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at Mar 03. 2013 15:13

CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
Window 10,64bit. Processor i7 6700, 16GB memory,C= 480 GB SSD , video card Nvidia GTX960 2GB. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HD's for video etc.

4K 24" ViewSonic monitor
Camera Sony FDR-AX100. Sony BDP-S1500,Samsung K8500, Seiki BRHD
Reply
MarkJ99
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Mar 03, 2013 03:51 Messages: 2 Offline
[Post New]
Thanks, Eugene. Good to know SVRT can be made to work, in some cases. So there's hope.

Can you also get the "Hardware video encoder" to work, for the times you want to re-encode?

Actually being able to offload the CPU to the GPU would be amazing; but it seems like pushing the envelope. So in this case, I woudn't be surprised if it didn't work on XP.
Reply
Xerox
[Avatar]
Contributor Private Message Location: California, USA Joined: Aug 09, 2009 01:36 Messages: 446 Offline
[Post New]
I believe you need an AMD processor and an AMD/ATI graphics card in order for the hardware encoder to work. On top of that, some people also need to install the AVIVO codecs downloadable from AMD. I'm one of those people. You can see the computer I have listed in my signature. I couldn't use hardware encode until I installed the AVIVO codecs. But that doesn't have anything to do with SVRT. If you use SVRT, you can't use hardware encoding.

In order for hardware video encoding to work on your computer, you probably need an NVIDIA card instead of an AMD card. On the PowerDirector 11 product page is a section that list the requirements. That's where I found out about the AVIVO codecs. Gateway DX4380, AMD A8-5500 Quad Core 3.2GHz with ATI Radeon HD 7560D; 16GB RAM; 1 TB SATA 7200 RPM; Windows 8 Pro 64-bit; PDR11, PDVD12.
Reply
Eugen157
Contributor Private Message Location: Palm Springs area, So.CA Joined: Dec 10, 2012 13:57 Messages: 525 Offline
[Post New]
Yes I can use hardware encoding, If I remember correctly the i7 processors runs at less than 10%, on 1080 60P video playback app 2%.

I paid app $60 for my graphics card, it was recommended for video editing.

Eugene

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Mar 04. 2013 15:48

CYBERLINK PLEASE ADD UHD BLU RAY BURNING SOFTWARE
Window 10,64bit. Processor i7 6700, 16GB memory,C= 480 GB SSD , video card Nvidia GTX960 2GB. Plus 3 int, 4 ext HD's for video etc.

4K 24" ViewSonic monitor
Camera Sony FDR-AX100. Sony BDP-S1500,Samsung K8500, Seiki BRHD
Reply
HDedit
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Canada Joined: Aug 21, 2009 11:24 Messages: 1401 Offline
[Post New]
MarkJ99 ,

FYI - only the ATI HD 5000 and higher series of graphics cards are supported for hardware acceleration/encoding in PD11. To avoid crashes :

- de-select in preferences "enable HD video"
- de-select all options in preferences/hardware acceleration Win 10, i7
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team