Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Uploading HD content to YouTube
Andy14 [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Mar 22, 2012 06:33 Messages: 13 Offline
[Post New]
Morning all. Hoping someone can help here, I'm fairly new to PD10, but after years of using Premiere have a good background in Video Editing.

I'm shooting AVCHD video on my Sony A65 @ 50fps. I'm then taking this footage and editing it in Cyberlink PowerDirector 10 Ultra. Then I use PD10u to upload the video to YouTube directly in 1080p format.

Resulting videos can be seen here as examples. -- http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLB57BB6A867F7D7E2&feature=plcp

My problem is that although the resulting video is good, even the 1080p is not completely smooth and if compared to the original footage obviously not as good.

Is YouTube limiting the FPS / bitrate ? Is the 50fps (I believe this is AVCHD2?) causing the issue ? Are there limitations in PD10u ?

Any thoughts appreciated.
Robert2 S
Senior Contributor Location: Australia Joined: Apr 22, 2009 05:57 Messages: 1461 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Andy and welcome to the PD help forum.

The automatic Youtube upload inside PowerDirector, in my opinion is set to the lowest common denominator. It is not the best PD can do. I would suggest producing your video to the quality you want and manually upload to Youtube.

I use a GoPro HD2 for my hanggliding videos and for me I produce to H.264 AVC 15,000 to 17,000 kbps. Your requirements may differ. I would suggest making a sample 1 minute video produced at different settings and upload to Youtube till you find a setting that suits your needs. My youtube channel====> http://www.youtube.com/user/relate2?feature=mhsn
Andy14 [Avatar]