CyberLink Community Forum
Can "audio" static in the background be removed?  XML
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Author Message
Mr19th

Member

Joined: 28/12/2009 12:41:06
Messages: 83
Location: Atlanta, GA
Offline

I have never had this problem before, but last night I shot a video in a class and there's static in the background. You can hear the teacher's voice w/o any problem, but there's a little static in the background every 2 or 3 seconds. Is there a tool to fix that in PowerDirector8.0?

I've attched a 10sec clip of it as an example. I looked all around and couldn't find any tool that helped.

Thanks,
Sean


PS - I have played with the Audio Denoise, but nothing in there really helped.
 Filename Prob_Static.wmv [Disk] Download
 Description Clip w/ Static in the Background
 Filesize 2630 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  219 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 24/02/2012 13:11:02


-
[WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN] [ICQ]
CubbyHouseFilms

Senior Contributor

Joined: 14/07/2009 01:23:28
Messages: 1975
Location: Victoria, Australia
Offline

Hi Sean

I downloaded your clip and 'fiddled' around with it.

I got mixed results as the static/scratch is just before/during and after her voice, which means if you did remove the noise her lips would be out of sync to the audio

Here's what I did (you'll need Audacity - Google it - it's a great free audio editor with tons of tutorials on Youtube)

1. Import clip into media library

2. Right click> extract audio - this then saved as a WAV file.

3. Close PD

4. Open Audacity and zoom in to expand timeline

Here you can 'fiddle/delete bits/enhance/isolate' more accurately than you can with the limited functions of the PD 8 audio 'fixer'

Happy editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD11 Ultim v2812. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2816. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite: PowerDirector 12 v2816, PhotoDirector 4 v3419, ColorDirector Ultra 1 v3028, AudioDirector 3 v2321

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, HDR TG5E, GoPro 2 Hero, Canon 6D DSLR

Check out PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials and more. Subscribe!
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Mr19th

Member

Joined: 28/12/2009 12:41:06
Messages: 83
Location: Atlanta, GA
Offline

Thank you, I tried the program and it worked pretty good, but I'm just terrible with audio. It was just a test. I need to work on getting better audio, so it doesn't happen again.

I studied photography, nothing to do with any sound.


I'm Using a:

Sony Handycam - DCR-SR85
w/ Sony Bluetooth Wireless Microphone - ECM-HW1R

It just seems to get bad sound.

Thanks for your help!
Sean

-
[WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN] [ICQ]
Frederick the third

Newbie

Joined: 17/03/2011 16:37:35
Messages: 7
Offline

I use Sony blue tooth as well. Make sure you use new batteries and are in range
Carl312

Senior Contributor

Joined: 16/03/2010 17:11:20
Messages: 5770
Location: Texas, USA
Offline

If you want to use a Wireless Microphone, look for VHS or UHF mics.

They can be very pricey. However you can find wireless mics that are reasonable priced.

Stay away from Blue-Tooth.



Windows 7 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB,WD 1TB HD C free space greater than 100GB
http://www.carlmcmillan.com
Not responsible for any harm that may come to your wallet
Mr19th

Member

Joined: 28/12/2009 12:41:06
Messages: 83
Location: Atlanta, GA
Offline

Carl312 wrote:If you want to use a Wireless Microphone, look for VHS or UHF mics.

They can be very pricey. However you can find wireless mics that are reasonable priced.

Stay away from Blue-Tooth.





Any suggestions?

I found this and it seems pretty good, but as I said, I'm naive here.

Galaxy Audio ECM Wireless Microphone System

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/755062-REG/Galaxy_Audio_ECMR_52LV_L_ECM_Wireless_Microphone_System.html

Am I looking at the right type of microphone? I'll end up with two seperate files (Audio and Video), but I can just combine them after.

Thanks,
Sean

-
[WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN] [ICQ]
Carl312

Senior Contributor

Joined: 16/03/2010 17:11:20
Messages: 5770
Location: Texas, USA
Offline

Mr19th wrote:
Carl312 wrote:If you want to use a Wireless Microphone, look for VHS or UHF mics.

They can be very pricey. However you can find wireless mics that are reasonable priced.

Stay away from Blue-Tooth.





Any suggestions?

I found this and it seems pretty good, but as I said, I'm naive here.

Galaxy Audio ECM Wireless Microphone System

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/755062-REG/Galaxy_Audio_ECMR_52LV_L_ECM_Wireless_Microphone_System.html

Am I looking at the right type of microphone? I'll end up with two seperate files (Audio and Video), but I can just combine them after.

Thanks,
Sean

That one is a good one. It has lots of room for expansion.

I like this one for a camcorder:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/3659-REG/Azden_WMS_PRO_WMS_PRO_VHF_Wireless_Lavalier.html

The receiver plugs into the external mic jack on your camera, you record the audio on the video as you are shooting it.
It has both the lavalier and the handheld microphones. You can use one at a time not both at the same time.

There is endless variety in wireless microphones.

It is all a matter of what you want to do and how much money you are willing to spend.

Here is a search for wireless mics that work for camcorders. The Audio-Technica Pro 88W vary by the operating channel which means you can use the various units in the same room.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?atclk=Price_%240+to+%24249.99&ci=15419&N=4291086004+4293918168

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 19/03/2012 20:32:59


Windows 7 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB,WD 1TB HD C free space greater than 100GB
http://www.carlmcmillan.com
Not responsible for any harm that may come to your wallet
Mr19th

Member

Joined: 28/12/2009 12:41:06
Messages: 83
Location: Atlanta, GA
Offline

Carl312 wrote:
Mr19th wrote:
Carl312 wrote:If you want to use a Wireless Microphone, look for VHS or UHF mics.

They can be very pricey. However you can find wireless mics that are reasonable priced.

Stay away from Blue-Tooth.





Any suggestions?

I found this and it seems pretty good, but as I said, I'm naive here.

Galaxy Audio ECM Wireless Microphone System

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/755062-REG/Galaxy_Audio_ECMR_52LV_L_ECM_Wireless_Microphone_System.html

Am I looking at the right type of microphone? I'll end up with two seperate files (Audio and Video), but I can just combine them after.

Thanks,
Sean

That one is a good one. It has lots of room for expansion.

I like this one for a camcorder:
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/3659-REG/Azden_WMS_PRO_WMS_PRO_VHF_Wireless_Lavalier.html

The receiver plugs into the external mic jack on your camera, you record the audio on the video as you are shooting it.
It has both the lavalier and the handheld microphones. You can use one at a time not both at the same time.

There is endless variety in wireless microphones.

It is all a matter of what you want to do and how much money you are willing to spend.

Here is a search for wireless mics that work for camcorders. The Audio-Technica Pro 88W vary by the operating channel which means you can use the various units in the same room.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/search?atclk=Price_%240+to+%24249.99&ci=15419&N=4291086004+4293918168





Okay, one last question about an audio set up.

I was sent a few links and was suggested this set up:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/564249-REG/Pearstone_9011300_Microphone_Adapter_for_Sony.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/647286-REG/Samson_SW87SLM5_N5_UM1_Portable_Wireless_Lavalier.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/133646-REG/Comprehensive_XLRJ_MPS_18INST_EXF_Stereo_Mini_Male.html

Do you know anything about these? It seems like a good set-up and reading the quotes, people seem to like how they work.

What do you think?

Thanks again,
Sean

-
[WWW] [Yahoo!] aim icon [MSN] [ICQ]
Carl312

Senior Contributor

Joined: 16/03/2010 17:11:20
Messages: 5770
Location: Texas, USA
Offline

Okay, one last question about an audio set up.

I was sent a few links and was suggested this set up:

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/564249-REG/P...crophone_Adapter_for_Sony.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/647286-REG/S...ortable_Wireless_Lavalier.html

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/133646-REG/C...INST_EXF_Stereo_Mini_Male.html

Do you know anything about these? It seems like a good set-up and reading the quotes, people seem to like how they work.

What do you think?

Thanks again,
Sean

I do not know anything about those devices except what is written on the web site.

I assume that since you have choosen Pearstone Microphone Adapter for Sony Camcorder Hot Shoe, your camera is a Sony camera.

Not that it matters much, but you have choosen a microphone that has an output connector that you have to use an adapter on.

I would think it best to have as few pieces as possible to get the job done. Every time you add pieces to a system you are adding things that can go wrong.

And you have more pieces to carry around every time you go out on a shoot.

My camera is a Canon Vixia HF R100 (low price range). It has a 3.5 mm external stereo mic input jack. There is a ton of wireless microphones for camcorders that have that 3.5 mm plug on the receiver output.

So you only have the microphone, transmitter body pack and the receiver which you can clip to your belt.
Does not have to mount on the camera hot shoe. My camera does not have a hot shoe anyway.

It is the least amount of equipment to carry on a shoot. Fewer things to go wrong.

So I recommend that you find the least amount of equipment to go on a shoot to get the job done.

It is your choice as to what equipment you want to use. The main thing is a "good" Microphone/transmitter and receiver that works with your camera.

The idea of a separate audio recording is OK for movie studios, but it really complicates the editing process.
Have you ever tried to synchronize audio and video in Powerdirector? It is not impossible, but it is not a walk in the park.



Windows 7 64-bit 8 GB RAM,AMD Phenom II X4 965 3.4 GHz,ATI Radeon HD 5770 1 GB,WD 1TB HD C free space greater than 100GB
http://www.carlmcmillan.com
Not responsible for any harm that may come to your wallet
 
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS