CyberLink Community Forum
Two movies, one DVD  XML
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Author Message
Shawn

Newbie

Joined: 04/08/2006 13:08:16
Messages: 33
Offline

Hi there,

Just bought PowerDirector 5 Premium and I need some help. :

I would like to burn a DVD with a menu that offers two different movies. Is there a way to have a menu with two options for videos that are two separate, unconnected movies rather than chapters?

For example, a short 15 minute video presentation and a bloopers video--clicking the first one doesn't mean you'll end up watching the second when the first one is done.

Thanks for any help anyone can give.

Shawn
Bora

Newbie

Joined: 02/08/2006 17:09:18
Messages: 26
Offline

Shawn,

You can create 2 separate menus (not chapters) in Power Producer. You can select the "Back to main menu" in the Tools/Options, so that the second menu won't play after you finished the first menu.

Hope this helps.

Shawn

Newbie

Joined: 04/08/2006 13:08:16
Messages: 33
Offline

Bora,

Thanks for your answer.

Do you mean I need to buy PowerProducer in order to do this? I figured PowerDirector would be all I needed for Video Editing and Burning.

I know other Video Editing software does this. I was checking out Pinnacle and it does it.

To be honest, I don't have the cash to be buying all of Cyberlink's programs.

Any way at all to do something like this in PowerDirector?

Thanks for all your help.

Shawn
Petersen

Newbie

Joined: 23/06/2006 11:35:32
Messages: 19
Location: Klaus Petersen
Offline

Hi Shawn,

No, there is no way around in PDR 5.

But, it can be done in many other burning programs like PowerProducer, Power2Go, Nero Burning, etc.

By the way: This issue has been discussed previously. Please enclosed find the link.

http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/22.page


Med venlig hilsen,

Klaus
Shawn

Newbie

Joined: 04/08/2006 13:08:16
Messages: 33
Offline

Thanks for all your help.

I checked out that other thread, thanks.

I took a look at Power2Go/PowerProducer Express, but it looks like it only does VCDs. I guess I'll have to go without this feature.

I'm pretty frustrated with this... I'll either have to live without it or switch to another video editor.

Shawn
Petersen

Newbie

Joined: 23/06/2006 11:35:32
Messages: 19
Location: Klaus Petersen
Offline

Hi Shawn,

I am using PowerProducer 3.7, and here the "Back to Main Menu" function is supported.

In Power2Go2 which can be dowloaded for free as a member you can only use VCD.

Hopefully, CyberLink will introduce this function at the next update of PDR 5.


Med venlig hilsen,

Klaus
Shawn

Newbie

Joined: 04/08/2006 13:08:16
Messages: 33
Offline

Thanks,

I'm pretty disappointed that this feature is not available. I spent a long time trying to figure out which video editing software was right for me, but I didn't think about this option (I focused mainly on ease of use and editing options).

I'm not really sure what to do... if I'm going to spend the money to buy another program, I feel I'm better off buying another video editor that has this feature and have an all-in-one.

Thanks for your help, everyone.

Shawn
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 10469
Offline

Burning a DVD with PowerDirector 5 Premium is easy....gosh I really don't see what the hassle is all about!

Just experiment.
1. Put the Aquarium.mpg into the timeline/
2. Click Create a Disc
3. Put a DVD blank (re-writeable disc is good to test with) into your DVD writer's drive.
4. Click the icon - bottom right
5. Select your Current Drive (DVD writer drive is a good option )
6. Follow the rest of the window - you can even tick both options of Burn to Disc or Create DVD folder.
7 Click OK, and hey it does the job...it writes a DVD.

Okay in this experiment I haven't altered or added any menu's etc, but it is a test to create not a design a special DVD.

Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 10469
Offline

I didn't mention the "spanner and screwdriver" icon in bottom middle of Create Disc. This icon represents Create Disc Preference - The Disc Format can be selected (DVD, VCD, SVCD). In the above experiment it was set to DVD.

Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
Petersen

Newbie

Joined: 23/06/2006 11:35:32
Messages: 19
Location: Klaus Petersen
Offline

Hi Dafydd,

No one says it is a hassle to burn a DVD in PDR 5.

Shawn, myself and others are simply missing the function "Back to main Menu" when creating a disc with menus.

This function is supported in other programs like PowerProducer 3.7, Power2Go5, Nero Burning, etc.


Med venlig hilsen,

Klaus
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 10469
Offline

Petersen,

Ok, thanks for pointing that out.

"back to main menu" feature needed in PDr5premium.

I'll put it in an email to............

Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
Petersen

Newbie

Joined: 23/06/2006 11:35:32
Messages: 19
Location: Klaus Petersen
Offline

Hi Dafydd,

You are welcome.

I am still using PDR5, and not Premium, and are still wondering about the differences.

After what I have read the only differences are additional templates and the possibilty to upload directly to iPod, PSP and YouTubes.com.




Med venlig hilsen,

Klaus
Bora

Newbie

Joined: 02/08/2006 17:09:18
Messages: 26
Offline

Hi Shawn,

Sorry, I mised it. That you are using PD5. Because I am using PD4, and Power Producer is already included in the software package.

Isn't PD5 also using Power Producer as the authoring software?

regards,
RobertJ/OZ

Senior Contributor

Joined: 13/08/2006 23:26:06
Messages: 1192
Location: Melbourne Australia
Offline

Power Producer 3.7 can use Power Director 4/5 but I don't think it works the other way around

Intel i7 930, 16GB ram, Radeon HD 5770 1Gb,Ver. 12.8 Win7 64 bit
Intel T7400 4GB Ram Nvidia GeForceGo Win7 32 bit

PDtoots
Shawn

Newbie

Joined: 04/08/2006 13:08:16
Messages: 33
Offline

Thanks,

Sorry, I haven't been on the Cyberlink forum for a couple of days.

The back to menu function would certainly be nice. I would really like to put two separate videos on a DVD with PowerDirector 5 Premium as well, but it doesn't look like that'll happen.

I might have to suck it and buy PowerProducer. Short on cash at the moment...

Shawn
 
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS