CyberLink Community Forum
WebCam lag time  XML
Forum Index » YouCam
Author Message
RonH

Senior Member

Joined: 05/09/2011 07:13:32
Messages: 289
Location: An Aussie in Norway
Offline

I have YouCam3 preinstalled in my HP i7 processor laptop.
There is a noticable lag between 'my' movement and the on-screen picture. Is this 'normal' and/or is it corrected in later YouCam software.

Also you do not get a 'mirror image' so moving to one's right is shown on the screen as a 'movement to the left' when looking at it ... very confusing.

Would appreciate advise ... I do not need the 'extras' in YouCam 5 but would like to solve this problem.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 30/10/2011 08:34:52


CYa Ron (W7 64-bit/i7 CPU/8GB RAM/Radeon HD 6770M)
Someone famous once said: "We only have the 4th dimension of 'time' so that everything does not all happen at once"
Evandre

Newbie

Joined: 30/11/2011 05:47:01
Messages: 5
Offline

Having the exact problem with my ne HP i5 laptop. Webcam is laggy, youcam always pops up when I answer or initiate a video call. And when I have it in a lower resolution, it looks like my image is in a frame with a million little square boxes. I hate this!
Tyomni

Newbie
[Avatar]
Joined: 12/12/2011 09:31:19
Messages: 50
Offline

You both need to change settings.
Go to YouCam->options->capture increase the video size.
->display there is "Mirror image" checkbox check/uncheck it.
RonH

Senior Member

Joined: 05/09/2011 07:13:32
Messages: 289
Location: An Aussie in Norway
Offline

Tyomni wrote:You both need to change settings.
Go to YouCam->options->capture increase the video size.
->display there is "Mirror image" checkbox check/uncheck it.


Thanks for your help ... mirror image so much easier!
Ron

CYa Ron (W7 64-bit/i7 CPU/8GB RAM/Radeon HD 6770M)
Someone famous once said: "We only have the 4th dimension of 'time' so that everything does not all happen at once"
RonH

Senior Member

Joined: 05/09/2011 07:13:32
Messages: 289
Location: An Aussie in Norway
Offline

Some months have passed and I now have the latest YouCam 5 installed but the 'lag' that I referred to above has not improved?
I have the settings at 640x480 ... if I set at 1280x720 then I loose the mirror ability?

My pc is well equipped with i7 processor etc.
Any ideas please or is this as good as it gets?

CYa Ron (W7 64-bit/i7 CPU/8GB RAM/Radeon HD 6770M)
Someone famous once said: "We only have the 4th dimension of 'time' so that everything does not all happen at once"
CLD

Contributor

Joined: 22/03/2007 23:05:05
Messages: 508
Location: 新店區台灣
Offline

Hello Ron,

Is the lag there when you open the webcam in another program, i.e. outside of YouCam? For example, in Windows Live Messenger, go to the Set Up Audio and Video devices. On the Webcam page, change the driver by selecting the webcam, not CyberLink Webcam Splitter. See if the webcam image still lags in the preview window when selected. Try opening the webcam in another third party program as well.

I ask this, because it could be the webcam driver/firmware that needs updating. Also maybe go to the HP notebook forum and see if there are suggested solutions and drivers. Maybe this is a known issue with some HP webcams? Trying to cover all bases here. I am using a really old (2004 or 2005) USB webcam and I don't have any lag in YouCam 5. So I don't know.

The mirror image is always available for every resolution. Actually, the easiest way to change the view is to just click on the webcam image and then drag your mouse left or right.

Regards,
David
RonH

Senior Member

Joined: 05/09/2011 07:13:32
Messages: 289
Location: An Aussie in Norway
Offline

Hei David & thanks for helping me out.
I had a good search around and came across this HP Forum thread ... seems to be a solution for me.

http://h30434.www3.hp.com/t5/Notebook-Hardware-e-g-Windows-8/Slow-FPS-for-HP-TrueVision-HD-Webcam/td-p/779747

I checked the webcam driver which is current but since the webcam I refer to is the small laptop lid one I guess that it is not a high spec so will limit the quality I can get out of it. I have changed the resolution to 1280 x 720 so it is a bit more acceptable.

Thanks again ... I hope that the HP link will be of assistance to others.




CYa Ron (W7 64-bit/i7 CPU/8GB RAM/Radeon HD 6770M)
Someone famous once said: "We only have the 4th dimension of 'time' so that everything does not all happen at once"
 
Forum Index » YouCam
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS