CyberLink Community Forum
Youcam is completely dark! Please help  XML
Forum Index » YouCam
Author Message
Hello

Newbie

Joined: 14/09/2011 20:33:05
Messages: 1
Offline

No matter how much I adjust the contrast, brightness, etc... the screen is dark. It didn't use to be like. Is there a reset button somewhere? I have already uninstalled and even reinstalled the program and even went from version 3.5 to 4. screen is still black
Elaine2440

Newbie

Joined: 13/10/2011 01:28:16
Messages: 1
Offline

I also have this problem I have done a recovery from backup discs and still the screen has like a dark filter not displying as previously
Zhamilya

Newbie

Joined: 09/11/2011 06:47:33
Messages: 1
Offline

So, what should we do?
dps

Newbie

Joined: 08/12/2011 12:17:32
Messages: 1
Offline

Zhamilya wrote:So, what should we do?


I too am facing the same problem...webcam totally dark....tried to do all the settings available in contrast, exposure...etc

very frustrating...

I dont know what are the forum moderators doing....pls reply soon.

thanks in anticipation

Tyomni

Newbie
[Avatar]
Joined: 12/12/2011 09:31:19
Messages: 50
Offline

The YouCam software is not guilty, this problems occur when when Your webcam is broken.
Holly

Newbie

Joined: 29/12/2011 07:42:51
Messages: 1
Offline

My laptop is 2 days old. I was getting a somewhat pixelated look to my video. When I tried to adjust the settings YouCam when dark. Now, no matter what settings I change it remains dark and will not reset back to default. Has anyone gotten any help on this yet?
Ron2720

Newbie

Joined: 18/12/2011 19:21:02
Messages: 1
Offline

Yes, You Cam 3.5 went dark. I called HP and the support person walked me through some steps. He gave me settings that brigthened the image. Problem seems related to Exposure in the Advanced/Camera settings. Setting it to -2 brightens the image. Trouble for me is that the settings do not get saved after I close the program. When I reopen the program the image is dark and all the settings seem as if they have been saved. If click on the Auto box for Advanced/Camera/Expousre and then remove the Auto check mark, then the image gets bright once more.

Here are the settings that work for me and nothing is set to Auto.

Brightness 127
Contrast 25
Hue 0
Saturation 50
Sharpness 2
Gamma 299
White Balance 2800
BC 0
Gain 100
Frequency 60
marlies1

Newbie

Joined: 01/01/2012 03:57:03
Messages: 3
Offline

i had the same ...webcam dark, i have tryed your setting and its lighter now.
but have a constant flicker ever seens i got this laptop.
kate

Newbie

Joined: 07/01/2012 10:59:58
Messages: 1
Offline

didn t work for me , i have the same problem .. this webcam is a piece of crap
Jesus

Newbie

Joined: 19/01/2012 10:47:50
Messages: 1
Offline

Same problem and no way to fix it.... spoke to the currys guys but they can't fix it......
Lupe1984

Newbie

Joined: 04/05/2012 02:52:06
Messages: 1
Offline

Most likely it is a driver problem if it wont allow you to adjust settings. These are the steps that will alow you to fix the problem. Total estimated time is about 2hrs. Print these instructions out BEFORE you begin.
1. You will need to do a factory reset which will take your computer back to when you first turned it on out the box so save all of your files and anything important such as programs and what not. THESE INSTRUCTIONS ARE FOR HP users. It may vary with other brands but its along the same lines. You can pretend to go through the insturctions to see if you find all the labels Im talking about first.

2. CLick start. In seaarch type "manager". Click on device manager. Then under "sounds, video and game controller" you will find your webcam device driver. Right click and select uninstall

3. Then you want to click start and then type "recovery". Click on "recovery manager" . Then you want to click on system recovery. This process will take some time so be prepared.

4. Then follow your setup steps as if you just got your computer out of the box and your webcam should be working fine now!

Hope this helps. If not then you will need to uninstall youcam and reinstall it but the first steps should fix it!
Paige

Newbie

Joined: 06/05/2012 18:27:31
Messages: 1
Offline

I fixed it by going to edit the settings, hitting "Advanced" and then switching to "Camera Control" instead of "Video Proc Amp" at the top. Then I put the Exposure all the way to the right and hit auto, then hit okay.
Lee Hyun

Newbie

Joined: 08/07/2013 13:34:19
Messages: 1
Offline

THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH YOUR CAMERAS!

1. On the tool bar you see on the right, click "video enhancement"

2. Click last button 'Advanced'

3. A pop-up will open up and you will be opened to 'Video Proc Amp' . To the right of it you will see 'camera control'

4.BE SURPRISED FOR THE CHANGE when you click the tick box of 'Low light compensation'

5. click apply, and voila! you're done!

I would have loved to include screen shots but i dont know how to do that here.

 
Forum Index » YouCam
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS