CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
PowerDirector 9 Will Not Load At All
Reply to this topic
MJBNYC
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 01, 2011 12:05 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
I downloaded PowerDirector 9 for a 30 day trial. I am unable to get PowerDirector to even load. The logo comes up with the woman holding the video camera, then I am asked if I want to Try or Buy. No mater which I select, the program "Stops Working" and shuts down. I have never seen the inside of this program.

I uninstalled and re-installed three times. I installed the latest software patch. I send t a note to Tech Support a while ago, but they never got back to me. I am at a loss. It seems like a great program and I own other Cyberlink products that work great, so I am very disapointed.

I am running Windows 7 Pro, with SP1 on a Dell machine.

Please help.
Reply
Jaime-esque
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Tennessee Joined: Aug 24, 2009 20:40 Messages: 2978 Offline
[Post New]
From the start menu, in the Run box type dxdiag and press enter. Select 'Save All Information' and attach it to you post.
Reply
GregInSparta
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Location: Sparta, Michigan Joined: Dec 19, 2010 00:18 Messages: 4 Offline
[Post New]
Please follow steps outlined in this thread:
http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/7958.page

It is important that you include the DXdiag.txt file.

GregInSparta
---------------------------------
i5 6600K, 16GB RAM, 480Gb SSD, 3Tb & 4Tb HDD, Win10 Pro
Reply
MJBNYC
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 01, 2011 12:05 Messages: 8 Offline
[Post New]
Thank you.

Attached is the dxdiag information.

I also tried using MSCONFIG to shut off all services and startup items, but even in this mode, I had the same problem with PowerDirector 9.

I truly appreciate your help.
 Filename
MJBNYC DxDiag.txt
[Disk]
 Description
 Filesize
47 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
388 time(s)
Reply
vn800rider
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: York, UK Joined: May 15, 2008 04:32 Messages: 1766 Offline
[Post New]
I would suggest that you look to make sure your drivers are all up to date - particularly video drivers. The latest version for your card is 11.3 as far as I can see.

Your video card is at the low level for complex video editing and may well cause PD to struggle but should not stop it from loading.

Cheers
Adrian Life is really simple, but we insist on making it complicated.
Confucius
Reply
Bubba in TX
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Central Texas Joined: Dec 12, 2009 21:32 Messages: 1332 Offline
[Post New]
Either I missed it or it is not installed. You need to have Quick Time installed for it's codecs. When I installed the 2330 patch after the intro logo came up it would just go away and not start. Even though I already had and always had real player installed I was 2 update versions behind. I updated it and then it ran fine. PD will not run without it and I assume that Cyberlink thinks that everyone in the world naturally already has it on their computers. Like a lot of other software companies.

The trial version is a handicapped version of PD9 with a lot of things not installed. However even though you machine is relatively new wit PD9 you must make sure you have ALL the latest codecs and drivers all the time.

Should you purchase the retail version, do not do the CD box thing, do the download thing. There will be two files to download. The main file and content pak. I wold resist to jump in and go to the latest release patch at first.

And as Adrian said, you may want to reconsider your video card. Video editing and rendering is the most stressful thing you can do on a computer My old card was 500 meg and work just OK. Not great.

I meant Quick time, I was using real player when I was writing my post

This message was edited 3 times. Last update was at Apr 03. 2011 14:04

__________________________________________
Windows 8 Pro 64 bit

CyberLink PowerDirector 10 Tutorials
PDtoots PowerDirector Tutorials

**NOTICE**
When you are asked to provide a DXDIAG you go the following link and do part "B". Your posted specs are NOT what we are looking for as they tell us nothing. The specs on the box of your computer mean nothing. The DXDIAG shows us how your computer is configured as it runs.

DXDIAG Link
Reply
Ray06
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 06, 2008 09:28 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
I have recently installed PD9, I had PD8 before, I was having problems with it so I tried to re-install it, I got the following error "setup could not find a file on the specified path or disk", I tried it in safe mode, same problem, can anyone help?
Reply
HDedit
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Canada Joined: Aug 21, 2009 11:24 Messages: 1401 Offline
[Post New]
Ray06

Please post this as a new topic. It has no bearing on the original subject. Win 10, i7
Reply
Ray06
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 06, 2008 09:28 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
HDedit wrote: Ray06

Please post this as a new topic. It has no bearing on the original subject.


The topic is "PowerDirector 9 will not load at all", that is my problem, why is it bothering you?
Reply
HDedit
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Canada Joined: Aug 21, 2009 11:24 Messages: 1401 Offline
[Post New]
"setup could not find a file on the specified path or disk"

is a NEW item. It is not quite the same as MJBNYC's.

Yours is an upgrade. Are you having problems with PD8 or PD9 re-install ? Win 10, i7
Reply
Ray06
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 06, 2008 09:28 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
Well I am sorry, I am quite new to this, the problem is with PD9, when I tried PD8 I had the same problem.

Regards

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Apr 03. 2011 21:27

Reply
HDedit
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Canada Joined: Aug 21, 2009 11:24 Messages: 1401 Offline
[Post New]
Are you able to remove and re-install PD8 successfully ? Win 10, i7
Reply
Ray06
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 06, 2008 09:28 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
Well after I had the problem with re-installing PD9, I tried re-installing PD8 but I got exactly the same error message, as far as I know both versions were removed although Wavepad is still there, when I tried to remove it, I got "File definition is lost".

Regards
Reply
Bubba in TX
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Central Texas Joined: Dec 12, 2009 21:32 Messages: 1332 Offline
[Post New]
Ray

Was PD8 running OK for you before all this? __________________________________________
Windows 8 Pro 64 bit

CyberLink PowerDirector 10 Tutorials
PDtoots PowerDirector Tutorials

**NOTICE**
When you are asked to provide a DXDIAG you go the following link and do part "B". Your posted specs are NOT what we are looking for as they tell us nothing. The specs on the box of your computer mean nothing. The DXDIAG shows us how your computer is configured as it runs.

DXDIAG Link
Reply
Ray06
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Nov 06, 2008 09:28 Messages: 9 Offline
[Post New]
Bubba in NV wrote: Ray

Was PD8 running OK for you before all this?


Yes it was, I installed PD9 recently, it kept crashing so I tried re-install it and that was when my problem started.
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team