CyberLink Community Forum
Cyberlink does not support VHS  XML
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Author Message
sonjatrevorfarmer

Newbie

Joined: 11/02/2011 00:27:46
Messages: 2
Location: new zealand
Offline

I have bought a AVerMedia EZMaker7 capture device (USB - SVideo, RCA Video and stereo) that comes bundled with Cyberlink Power Director v8.

The software says it is initializing the analog device but does not recognize when a VHS camera, VCR player or DVD player is attached to the Windows 7 PC via the cable above

I have family VHS videos that I want to edit but cant get them onto the PC screen.

Xerox

Contributor

Joined: 08/08/2009 22:36:15
Messages: 446
Location: California, USA
Offline

I have a similar capture device that I use and it works in PDR8 and PDR9. Just make sure that you change the settings so that the capture device and capture source are set correctly. I always have to change the video source from S-Video to Video Composite. There's a "Settings" button in the lower right quadrant of the Capture screen in Power Director.

Gateway DX4380, AMD A8-5500 Quad Core 3.2GHz with ATI Radeon HD 7560D; 16GB RAM; 1 TB SATA 7200 RPM; Windows 8 Pro 64-bit; PDR11, PDVD12.
sonjatrevorfarmer

Newbie

Joined: 11/02/2011 00:27:46
Messages: 2
Location: new zealand
Offline

There is no option to change the setting in this are. The device has been sent back to be checked by the distributor. It looks as though either the device has stayed the same but the supplied software no longer recognises VHS or the device itself is malfunctioning. It has been over two weeks now so I will follow up tomorrow.
CubbyHouseFilms

Senior Contributor

Joined: 14/07/2009 01:23:28
Messages: 2092
Location: Melbun, Australia
Offline

Hi

I've read somewhere on this forum that PD8 does not support Hi8 tapes.

A workaround is to record to a DVD recorder then import from recorded formatted DVD.

Good luck

Happing editing

Best Regards

Neil
CubbyHouseFilms

My Youtube Channel
My Vimeo Channel
PD3.5, 5, 6 & 7. Computer: Dell Dimension 5150, Intel Pen. 2.80 GHz, 2GB RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8600GT 256MB, Windows XP Pro!!
PD8 Ultra v3022. Computer: Dell Studio 1747, Intel, i7 Q740 1.73 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 560v 1GB, Windows 7 Ult. 64
PD10 Ultra v2023. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD11 Ultim v2812. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
PD12 Ultra v2930. Computer: HP Pavilion dv7, Intel, i7 2630 2.00 GHz, 8GB RAM, ATI Mob. Radeon HD 6770 2GB, Windows 7 Pre. 64
Director Suite: PowerDirector 12 v2930, PhotoDirector 4 v3419, ColorDirector Ultra 1 v3028, AudioDirector 3 v2321

Cameras: Sony(s) HXR-NX5P, HXR-NX70P, NEX-VG10E, HDR TG5E, GoPro 2 Hero, Canon 6D DSLR

Check out PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials and more. Subscribe!
PDtoots happily supports fellow PowerDirector users!
Keith Widdup

Newbie

Joined: 17/11/2009 07:14:16
Messages: 40
Offline

I've just downloaded a VHS tape via aDataVideo Convereter (DAC 200). It seemed to work reasonably well, although for some reason at the start of a shot the first frame was held then things dtarted to move. It meant going throug the tape to edit out the still frame but I was able to download to the timeline.
I've also downloaded a tape that was originally edited on a Casablanca, and recorded to VHS tape. This went into PD8 without any problems.

Keith
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 10169
Offline

Hi8 needs to be treated as VHS and captured using RCA cable connections through a suitable interface device.
Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
cjbbrussels

Newbie

Joined: 13/09/2011 07:14:40
Messages: 6
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Offline

I have my JVC VCR conntected to my laptop and captured a VHS tape. I used a SCART card with RCA jacks and an S-video card. Sound and video came over just fine.

cjbbrussels
newbie
Brussels, Belgium
Laptop, Windows 7 64 bit, Power Director 8
 
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS