Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Need Advice - Best Way to Copy VHS to DVD
AugieDog [Avatar]
Newbie Joined: Jul 16, 2010 23:22 Messages: 28 Offline
[Post New]
Hi, all. I'm a newbie who has just purchased Media Suite and PowerDirector 9. One of the big projects I want to undertake is to copy (and later edit) some old VHS tapes (some 30 years old) to DVD.

I want to copy the VHS to disc, massage the data, and burn to DVD.

I've tried a couple of things.....first, via PowerDirector, I managed to copy to disc. But, the playback was terrible, showing checkered frames and the audio was off, not a good solution. Then, I tried PowerProducer. Oddly, it seems to only allow VHS to DVD directly. When I tried to do a short sample, I clicked on the 'stop' button and PowerProducer hung up and simply froze, another bad solution.

So, while I thought this might be a rather simple effort, it is turning into a technical challenge. I'm thinking that I'm either not doing something right, or I'm not using the correct tool. This is where I thought I'd reach out to the experts and seek some input.

Can anyone offer a solution?

FYI....I'm also posting this in the PowerProducer forum, as I"m not sure where to best post.

Thanks, all!!

Art
twincitybulldog
Senior Member Location: Winter Haven, Florida "Home of Legoland" Joined: Aug 03, 2009 14:59 Messages: 159 Offline
[Post New]
I have a video capture USB device that I use in conjunction with a VHS VCR and capture the video and audio(if desired) to my computer first. After you have captured the video from the VHS VCR to your computer, then you can do almost anything you desire with the video i.e. edit, enhance, etc.