CyberLink Community Forum
Startup crash on Windows 7 "PowerDirector has stopped working", I need help debugging please!  XML
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Author Message
Paul

Newbie

Joined: 20/07/2010 11:06:12
Messages: 8
Location: Worcester, US
Offline

Hi guys, I just reinstalled my pc and now PD8 is crashing at startup "PowerDirector has stopped working...", I'm posting my specs expecting that someone here could possibly help me, thanks!

Windows 7 x64
MSI P55-CD53
Core i7 860
4GB RAM
nVidia GTX 480
SoundBlater Fatality Xtreme

Event Log Message
Faulting application name: PDR8.exe, version: 8.0.0.3022, time stamp: 0x4c2017c8
Faulting module name: ntdll.dll, version: 6.1.7600.16559, time stamp: 0x4ba9b29c
Exception code: 0xc015000f
Fault offset: 0x00084391
Faulting process id: 0x314
Faulting application start time: 0x01cb283559017813
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files (x86)\CyberLink\PowerDirector\PDR8.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Windows\SysWOW64\ntdll.dll
Report Id: 982cc8f7-9428-11df-8a15-005056c00008

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 22/07/2010 10:41:19


Windows 7 x64
MSI P55-CD53
Corsair VX-550W
Intel Core i7 860
Corsair XMS3 4GB
Palit nVidia GeForce GTX 480
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Fatality
Paul

Newbie

Joined: 20/07/2010 11:06:12
Messages: 8
Location: Worcester, US
Offline

By the way, I reinstalled QuickTime, K-lite MegaCodec Pack, Divx, cleaned the Registry with ccleaner, uninstaller the software, reinstalled the software, none worked.

Including here my DXDiag report file.
 Filename DxDiag.txt [Disk] Download
 Description
 Filesize 37 Kbytes
 Downloaded:  345 time(s)

This message was edited 2 times. Last update was at 20/07/2010 11:35:46


Windows 7 x64
MSI P55-CD53
Corsair VX-550W
Intel Core i7 860
Corsair XMS3 4GB
Palit nVidia GeForce GTX 480
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Fatality
Miroslav Durcik

Newbie

Joined: 08/07/2010 13:40:12
Messages: 7
Location: Bratislava, Slovakia, Europe
Offline

I think I read somewhere else on this forum that 64bit os is a no go for this app.

Maybe the native calls to ntdll.dll are hardcoed as 32bit data types, but in 64bit os these calls must be with 64bit data types.

but that is only my guess.
[WWW] [ICQ]
Paul

Newbie

Joined: 20/07/2010 11:06:12
Messages: 8
Location: Worcester, US
Offline

Miroslav wrote:I think I read somewhere else on this forum that 64bit os is a no go for this app.

Maybe the native calls to ntdll.dll are hardcoed as 32bit data types, but in 64bit os these calls must be with 64bit data types.

but that is only my guess.


Unfortunately that's not the case because it worked before...
Is there a way to get some advanced error logging information from this app?
Thanks!

Windows 7 x64
MSI P55-CD53
Corsair VX-550W
Intel Core i7 860
Corsair XMS3 4GB
Palit nVidia GeForce GTX 480
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Fatality
mrteeth2005

Newbie

Joined: 14/07/2010 22:09:48
Messages: 55
Offline

Hey there-

I'm a newbie myself so I'm still learning this product. I'd like to make a suggestion. Your system rig seems to be fine. In fact, it's very similar to what I have (i7-930 and GTX480).

Often time when something like this crash(which it never did on mine), I have always traced it back to the memory. It happened to me when I bought my gaming rig two months ago. It was really beefy (i7-975, GTX480, 8gig ram, etc.) but games and video editing software was crashing left and right (10-12 different BSOD). I finally traced it back to the memory. What kind of memory do you have? Are they branded names like Kingston? Corsairs? Are they generic?

Mine was generic. Although 8g 1800mhz was a lot, the fact is they were some cheap memory with no names. I ended up returning the system and getting my money back to order a new one. My new rig with only 6gb of Corsair ram has not crashed on any application. That includes games like Crysis, COD MW2, and Far Cry 2. I've not received one single BSOD.

Anyways, it's my 2 cents

Good luck.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at 20/07/2010 15:13:01


Intel i930 (4x 2.80ghz), 12 gb Corsair Dominator DDR3 ram, 1.5gb Nvidia GTX480, Asus P6t mb, 850w XFX PSu, Windows 7 HP
Paul

Newbie

Joined: 20/07/2010 11:06:12
Messages: 8
Location: Worcester, US
Offline

Tuan wrote:Hey there-

I'm a newbie myself so I'm still learning this product. I'd like to make a suggestion. Your system rig seems to be fine. In fact, it's very similar to what I have (i7-930 and GTX480).

Often time when something like this crash(which it never did on mine), I have always traced it back to the memory. It happened to me when I bought my gaming rig two months ago. It was really beefy (i7-975, GTX480, 8gig ram, etc.) but games and video editing software was crashing left and right (10-12 different BSOD). I finally traced it back to the memory. What kind of memory do you have? Are they branded names like Kingston? Corsairs? Are they generic?

Mine was generic. Although 8g 1800mhz was a lot, the fact is they were some cheap memory with no names. I ended up returning the system and getting my money back to order a new one. My new rig with only 6gb of Corsair ram has not crashed on any application. That includes games like Crysis, COD MW2, and Far Cry 2. I've not received one single BSOD.

Anyways, it's my 2 cents

Good luck.


Hi, I have 4GB of Corsair XMS3, I never had any problems nor ever got a BSOD, not being able to even lunch the app is really annoying, I wish someone could help me trace it.
Thank you

Windows 7 x64
MSI P55-CD53
Corsair VX-550W
Intel Core i7 860
Corsair XMS3 4GB
Palit nVidia GeForce GTX 480
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Fatality
Andrew - Wales, UK

Contributor

Joined: 27/01/2009 16:16:09
Messages: 448
Location: Wales, UK
Offline

Hi folks,

it is forum policy that those wishing to post questions on here provide their name. Experienced members on this forum will not attempt to assist you until you do so and our Moderator Dafydd will lock this post.

Many thanks,

Andrew

Intel i7 920 2.67GHz
8GB DDR3 RAM
750GB Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid Drive
NVIDIA GeForce GTS-450 1GB GDDR5
Windows 8.1 Pro

Sony HDR-PJ810 and HDR-PJ530
Canon Legria HFR506
Sony Alpha a35 and NEX-3N
Paul

Newbie

Joined: 20/07/2010 11:06:12
Messages: 8
Location: Worcester, US
Offline

Andrew - Wales, UK wrote:Hi folks,

it is forum policy that those wishing to post questions on here provide their name. Experienced members on this forum will not attempt to assist you until you do so and our Moderator Dafydd will lock this post.

Many thanks,

Andrew


Thanks for pointing that out, I just hope that an expert will be able to help me now!
Cheers,
Paul

Windows 7 x64
MSI P55-CD53
Corsair VX-550W
Intel Core i7 860
Corsair XMS3 4GB
Palit nVidia GeForce GTX 480
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Fatality
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 9967
Offline

Was that a full version of 3022 or the patched upgrade?

Just so you know, we're not CyberLink Technical Support. Here's their link: https://membership.cyberlink.com/prog/support/cs/index.do

Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
Paul

Newbie

Joined: 20/07/2010 11:06:12
Messages: 8
Location: Worcester, US
Offline

Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko wrote:Was that a full version of 3022 or the patched upgrade?

Just so you know, we're not CyberLink Technical Support. Here's their link: https://membership.cyberlink.com/prog/support/cs/index.do

Dafydd


Hi, I'm trying to evaluate the software and if I don't get it working soon it will be too late because it will have expired

Windows 7 x64
MSI P55-CD53
Corsair VX-550W
Intel Core i7 860
Corsair XMS3 4GB
Palit nVidia GeForce GTX 480
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Fatality
OnTheWeb

Contributor

Joined: 02/01/2009 09:58:43
Messages: 508
Location: Michigan USA
Offline

Well, obviously your PC is powerful enough. Good on one hand, bad because those 480 drivers are very new.

You'll have to strip it down to bare bones until the problem can be isolated... Disable the virus scanner, other hardware, unplug USB hubs and unnecessary devices (like that MyBook), shut down as much running software as possible.

Have you run the windows Memory diagnostic utility... the program is Mdsched.exe (in the system 32 folder)?






Win8 64-bit Pro Retail
Intel i7-4770
16GB DDR3 1600 8-8-8-24
MSI Z87-G45 Motherboard
ASUS GTX 660 Direct CU II OC 2GB GPU
1 TB RAID 1 (mirrored) Drive Array
Several scratch drives for video, TMP, pagefile.
Paul

Newbie

Joined: 20/07/2010 11:06:12
Messages: 8
Location: Worcester, US
Offline

Thanks for the advise but it didn't work, I would like to take advantage of this moment to share my experience with the Cyberlink technical support, I previously heard from several people that their support was horrible and now I can testify, after weeks trying to run the Trial version before I would purchase anything they have shown to be completely useless, nevertheless after several support tickets on which I referred to be using the Trial version they started to ask for my proof of purchase and all that bs that they can't find my e-mail on their database, how many times do I have to tell them that I'm not going to buy a piece of software that doesn't even start on my computer, they just don't seem to get it, the replies look just like automated responses from a cheap tech support in India.
Thanks everyone,
Paul

Windows 7 x64
MSI P55-CD53
Corsair VX-550W
Intel Core i7 860
Corsair XMS3 4GB
Palit nVidia GeForce GTX 480
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Fatality
OnTheWeb

Contributor

Joined: 02/01/2009 09:58:43
Messages: 508
Location: Michigan USA
Offline

Sorry to hear. But there are some system configurations that software just doesn't want to behave on.

Win8 64-bit Pro Retail
Intel i7-4770
16GB DDR3 1600 8-8-8-24
MSI Z87-G45 Motherboard
ASUS GTX 660 Direct CU II OC 2GB GPU
1 TB RAID 1 (mirrored) Drive Array
Several scratch drives for video, TMP, pagefile.
donbroadband

Member

Joined: 06/08/2009 03:04:33
Messages: 119
Location: Caldy, Wirral UK
Offline

Paul,
A number of us run I7 with 64 bit win7 - its fine. I am unable to access your DXdiag, but could I ask why you rebuilt your system?
My thoughts on this would be as follows (based on this really (now) being a new system):
1. Are all the drivers OK (I am including the system borad drivers)
2. Did you do an absolutely clean install of PD8 that is get rid of any old Cyberlink folders/PD8 dll etc?

I had problems with PD8, if I install it AFTER I have changed the Video drivers. I always have to reinstall the Nvidia drivers
(I use a 4870 GPU)

Version 3022 in my experience is pretty solid. I now very rarely get crashes.

I agree with your comments regarding first line support - thay can be "difficult"

I am very wary of all code that messes with the registry (cccleaner, regmechanic etc.)
they have caused me terrible problems in the past by deleting keys that were needed!

Good Luck,

Don

Asus P6T SE, I7/920 O/C 3.7GH, Noctua Cooler 9GB DDR3, 4 x 1TB (Raid 1), ATI Radeon 4870 1GB. 650W PSU, Windows 7 Pro 64bit.
Zotac ION Dual Core Atom 330 1.6Ghz, 2GB DDR2 ram, 1 x 500GB Windows 7 Home (this system used as HTPC).Asus eeepc ATOM N550 2GB Ram 250GB WIN 7 Starter
Panasonic HDC SD
Mike

Newbie

Joined: 07/09/2010 04:34:22
Messages: 1
Offline

I'm having this problem on my 64 Bit windows 7 PC however it is fine on my laptop which is running 32 bit windows 7. I was going to buy this later this week but now I won't be.

Am I correct in assuming it is because I am running a 64 bit OS as it just says on the requirements page that it only runs on windows 7 and usually if a product supports 64bit it says that is does.
Paul

Newbie

Joined: 20/07/2010 11:06:12
Messages: 8
Location: Worcester, US
Offline

Welcome to the show, I submitted several trouble tickets but none of the resolution steps they asked me to perform solved the issue and my trial is now gone, I ended up not buying the software at all.
I wish I could help, good luck!
Paul

Windows 7 x64
MSI P55-CD53
Corsair VX-550W
Intel Core i7 860
Corsair XMS3 4GB
Palit nVidia GeForce GTX 480
Creative SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme Fatality
REZA

Newbie

Joined: 25/10/2010 19:24:11
Messages: 1
Offline

I am having the same problem!

My system: Dell xps 8100; 12GB dram; i7-870; GTX470

Appcrash in ntdll.dll at startup.

Tried:
1) cleanm install, including registry wipe.
2) reinstall nvidia drivers.
3) memory check.

No dice.

Now what should I try?
Cap'n Kevin

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/12/2008 17:22:27
Messages: 2003
Location: Chebeague Island, Maine
Offline

Hi Mike,

You wrote:
I'm having this problem on my 64 Bit windows 7 PC however it is fine on my laptop which is running 32 bit windows 7. I was going to buy this later this week but now I won't be.

Am I correct in assuming it is because I am running a 64 bit OS as it just says on the requirements page that it only runs on windows 7 and usually if a product supports 64 bit it says that is does.


It isn't a problem running PD8 on a 64-bit platform, PD8 simply installs in the 32-bit "Program folder". It runs reliably on my system and has since February of this year when I converted to that 64 bit OS system. If you are having trouble with PD8 on the 64-bit PC....then the problem is not because of the 64-bit variable. If PD8 didn't run in a 64-bit environment the forum would be filled with very angry people, and it isn't so far...well not due to that reason!! It is not working because of some other factor.

donbroadband provided some steps to take that may work for you. Unfortunately a similar problem can have different causes. It isn't always the same for each person because every PC is unique due to its specific hardware setup and installed software. Quite often a problem is corrected when the user goes back through some of the corrective steps and discovers that a crucial step was overlooked. I have been guilty of that many times.

Regards,

Kevin


Check out PDtoots. PowerDirector Tutorials and more! Over 3,000 Subscribers.
[WWW]
FJA2010

Newbie

Joined: 26/10/2010 10:41:41
Messages: 7
Offline

I have similiar problem, PD8 crashes whenever I try to use Titles (create or edit a Title) or try to Produce a video, and on many other things.
I was able to creat a project (without any titles) without the program crashing, burt I can't get beyond that.
The email support has been worthless since I have not received a reply to my two messages about PD8 crashinig all the time. I reinstalled it but it made no difference.
I was hoping to see some response from a technical support person in this forum, but where are they?
I have Win 7 Ultimate 64, and a Intel Core 2 Quad 2.66GHz 8GB mem, ATI Radeon HD4650 and Blu-Ray RW
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 9967
Offline

BHi FJA2010,
This isn't a technical support led forum. we are a user led forum.
http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/forums/list.page
This is a forum for CyberLink members to discuss and share their users' experience. CyberLink customer support will not reply in the forum regarding the technical issues.

Here are a few posts to read: http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/7979.page So you know what information to provide.

for technical support: https://membership.cyberlink.com/prog/support/cs/index.do

I've noted your issues. Look to update your drivers although I'm sure you have.

Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
FJA2010

Newbie

Joined: 26/10/2010 10:41:41
Messages: 7
Offline

Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko wrote:I've noted your issues. Look to update your drivers although I'm sure you have.

Dafydd


Thanks.
PD8 worked initially for my first video where I was able to edit and create a Title so I think the drivers should be fine. However, now it no longer does that without crashing, and I haven't changed any drivers or anything that would cause that. I think the problem is internal to PD8.
I was unable to upload the 'dump file to Cyberling Tech support because their limit is 5 MB/file and the dump file was over that.
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 9967
Offline

FJA2010 wrote:
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko wrote:I've noted your issues. Look to update your drivers although I'm sure you have.

Dafydd


Thanks.
PD8 worked initially for my first video where I was able to edit and create a Title so I think the drivers should be fine. However, now it no longer does that without crashing, and I haven't changed any drivers or anything that would cause that. I think the problem is internal to PD8.
I was unable to upload the 'dump file to Cyberling Tech support because their limit is 5 MB/file and the dump file was over that.


Could you do a few things for me please.

Do a complete uninstall > reboot > reinstall of PD8.

I also wonder what has changed on your system for a functioning software to stop working. What has changed? What have you introduced onto your system that has altered your set up? Do you allow auto-updates? Have you updated W7? The very last one is because a forum member here had crashes triggered after a w7 update was applied. Think. Video Editing software max's on all your resources and if you're editing HD then you need to be VERY careful because you need to stay within the capability of your PC. VE also shows weaknesses in systems - if you have a faulty bit of kit, a Ram with an issue, wrong pairing, badley handled and fitted a disc drive faltering, insufficient power.

A diagnostic only tells us so much, most of the "help" is from an operator thinking logically and eliminating systems and software.

attach a diagnostic - please.

Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
FJA2010

Newbie

Joined: 26/10/2010 10:41:41
Messages: 7
Offline

Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko wrote: Do a complete uninstall > reboot > reinstall of PD8.


...attach a diagnostic - please.

Dafydd


My version of PD8 is an upgrade to Platinum from Premium. I did one complete re-install, but I did not remove anything first. If I completely uninstall, will it still install the upgrade?
Also, there are several diagnostic tools. Could you please be specific as to what diagnostic tool? I think the one on my computer is by PC-Doctor.
As to your other question, yes I use automatic updates and everything is current both with Windows 7 Ultra and PD8 and my graphics driver.


Thanks again
Dafydd Bevan - SoftDeko

Senior Contributor

Joined: 26/08/2006 05:20:41
Messages: 9967
Offline

Hi,
My version of PD8 is an upgrade to Platinum from Premium.
Your information statement worries me. The full version of PowerDirector 8 are Deluxe and Ultra.

Please can you look up two guides for me, one's for the version details and the other is a guide to create a diagnostic. Carry out PART A and PART B please.

I suspect you have a special build - not to worry, i just need the actual details.

******************
http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/7958.page
Subject: PowerDirector - information we request and tasks to carry out.
PART A - name it
PART B - provide it
PART F - use them
PART E - an alternative
PART D - presentation is important

Dafydd

For more information click the links given here:
PowerDirector Video Editor = 2,2.5,3,4,5,5P,6,7,8,9,10,11 Ultimate Suite, Ultimate Suite 2, Director Suite 2.
PowerDirector 12 Image Guides linking image guides on the forum.
Image Editor = One that makes transparent background PNG files is a "must have".
Gif Animation = Creating and converting an animation can give one's video a little "edge".
Check out PowerDVD, PhotoDirector, ColorDirector, AudioDirector & MediaShow
I use the Pixelan plug-ins, (*5) with PowerDirector 12 Click here to visit Pixelan Software.
Started with 8mm splice editing and B&W still image darkroom photography.
Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
FJA2010

Newbie

Joined: 26/10/2010 10:41:41
Messages: 7
Offline

Well, now I'm screwed.
I uninstalled the program and rebooted, as you suggested. However, as I had feared, I cannot re-install it because neither the Premium version or Platimum version exist on my machine anymore.
I tried copying the Premium version from a backup but that doesn't work, it has to be installed and I don't have the old Premium version anymore because the new version deleted it.

I bought the back-up disk when I purchesed PD8 but thats no good because its an upgrade from the premium version which I don't have anymore.

BTW, its the Suite package, contains PD8, as well as Power2Go and PhotoNow and LabelPrint. Of course none of them work now.
That sucks
 
Forum Index » PowerDirector (previous versions)
Go to:   
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team
© 2013 CyberLink Corp. All Rights Reserved. [ Terms of Services | About CyberLink | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Site Map RSS