CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Jerky playback of AVCHD during editing
Reply to this topic
NICOLAS
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 03, 2010 10:30 Messages: 7 Offline
[Post New]
Hello to all forum members,

I'm using PD8 build 2704 on a Win7-32bits, 4Gb of DDR3, ATI Radeon 4850 1Gb, Catalyst 10.3.
My video source files are .MTS (AVCHD) coming from a Sony HDR-XR500.
I'm having troubles with my project:
-Either the playback of the project (or any clip) stops in the middle of the clip after a few frames only
-Or the playback is OK for the first clip from which I start playing, then becomes jerky for the following ones
I have tried to disable hw acceleration and ATI Stream - no better luck.
I have also contacted the customer support but get disappointing responses that did not help me getting any further.

Any help from any of you will be highly appreciated... happy easter to all !

Nicolas
 Filename
DxDiag.txt
[Disk]
 Description
DxDiag system info
 Filesize
32 Kbytes
 Downloaded:
148 time(s)
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5095 Offline
[Post New]
You have plenty of power, but HD is a voracious beast.
Have you added "fixes" or PIP objects? These can really push the limits of even the most potent machines.

Try lowering the preview quality.
Defrag / maintain your system.

What did CL tech say? My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 660(1.5GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---PCBnmk 3664.6
Canon Vixia HV30/HFM40/HFM41/Olympus E-PL5
Reply
James W
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Lakeland, FL USA Joined: Aug 18, 2008 10:36 Messages: 911 Offline
[Post New]
I agree with Barry. If I were you I would turn off file processing (Shadow files). You certainty do not need them. Also, before beginning any project I would make sure all your videos are in the same folder and be sure that your hard disk is defragmented (I assume you are editing from a internal hard drive and not a USB drive). Disabling hardware acceleration is a bad thing so I would leave that on.

I'm using a Q9300 and it will playback 24 Mb/s AVCHD files (1080i) fine, but as soon as I add any PiP objects or do anything to those clips (such as enhancements etc.) I get stuttering. In my case using hardware acceleration helps a lot.

What bit rate and resolution are your AVCHD files? If they are 1080p you are asking for trouble. You can try lowering the resolution to 720p (If you can) and see what happens. Q9300 2.5 GHz
4 GB Ram
Nvidia 9800 GT
Reply
NICOLAS
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 03, 2010 10:30 Messages: 7 Offline
[Post New]
Barry, many thanks for your reply - just forgot to mention I have an i7 CPU. I bought all that stuff especially for AVCHD editing so you may guess how disappointed I am.
When I play the video I can see the CPU remaining very low (below 10%).
I did a simple test by just putting a few clips (no effect at all) on a brand new project, I see the same behavior: the first clip is OK, the ones after are all jerky with no significant impact on the CPU.
Lowering the quality makes no difference either (crazy no ?)
Already tried to defrag, move clips on another disk... still no better results.
I also disabled shadow files. I've even performed a fresh Win7 install, see how desperate I am!
I'm sorry I don't know what CL means - if this is related to Cyberlink support well they asked me to unistall Pinnacle Studio, reinstall drivers, disable Windows selective startup (which was not enabled).
Thanks,
Cheers.
Reply
James W
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Lakeland, FL USA Joined: Aug 18, 2008 10:36 Messages: 911 Offline
[Post New]
Try downloading ffdshow. It certainty helped my 2 GHz Core2Duo Laptop playback/edit my Canon footage.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Apr 03. 2010 11:36

Q9300 2.5 GHz
4 GB Ram
Nvidia 9800 GT
Reply
NICOLAS
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 03, 2010 10:30 Messages: 7 Offline
[Post New]
Thank you James, I'll try ffdshow.
You know the two things that worry me are that:
1) Sometimes the clip does not even play (well it stops after a few frames)
2) When it does work, then the first clip of the project -wherever I set the cursor to start from- is always smooth, it gets jerky only after moving to the next one.
Cheers
Reply
BarryTheCrab
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: USA Joined: Nov 06, 2008 22:18 Messages: 5095 Offline
[Post New]
Just wondering, are the clips in question on your hard drive? Is it 7,200 rpm?
The clips you are using should not be on a disc, or even a USB drive, they are too slow.
I believe an Esata drive is ok, they are faster.
Perhaps a bottleneck is in place.
Remember, edit from the hard drive if possible. My website http://bgillcyberstudio.com/index.html LINKS TO PDTOOTS & hundreds of other valuable resources!
HP Envy Phoenix/4thGen i7-4770(4@3.4GHz~turbo>3.9)/Nvidia GTX 660(1.5GB)/16GB DDR3/7,200rpm/w10x64---PCBnmk 3664.6
Canon Vixia HV30/HFM40/HFM41/Olympus E-PL5
Reply
NICOLAS
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 03, 2010 10:30 Messages: 7 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Barry,

The clips are on an internal SATAII drive. I've also tried to move them on the main disk (RAID0 / Stripe / SATA) - works the same.

Thanks.
Reply
Dafydd B
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Nicolas,
1. Did you supply sample files off your Sony HDR-XR500 to CyberLink support?

2. Are you prepared to create sample files and upload them to an FTP location which I will supply you with?

I will ask a few members to try out the samples on their systems and see what results they get.

Let me know. PM me your full name and email address please.

Dafydd
[Moderator] Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
Reply
Dafydd B
Senior Contributor Private Message Joined: Aug 26, 2006 08:20 Messages: 11973 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Nicholas,

Two test clips uploaded - 00965 and 00966.MTS

Both played without a problem on my system.

1. I do not allow/use shadow edit files.
2. My set up can be viewed here: http://forum.cyberlink.com/forum/posts/list/8445.page#35364

I see you run a Win7-32bits set up. Some members have reported problems and others not. It could be the structure/hardware configuration which is causing you problems. I don't know. Perhaps opting to run a 64bit set up will help you.

I have asked a number of members to check out the files on their systems (bound to be different than mine). I doubt they'll see anything untoward.

The MediaInfo from one of the video files is:

General
ID : 0
Complete name : C:\Video Cameras\Sony HDR-XR500\00965.MTS
Format : BDAV
Format/Info : Blu-ray Video
File size : 33.9 MiB
Duration : 16s 608ms
Overall bit rate : 17.1 Mbps
Maximum Overall bit rate : 18.0 Mbps

Video
ID : 4113 (0x1011)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AVC
Format/Info : Advanced Video Codec
Format profile : High@L4.0
Format settings, CABAC : Yes
Format settings, ReFrames : 2 frames
Duration : 16s 480ms
Bit rate : 16.0 Mbps
Width : 1 920 pixels
Height : 1 080 pixels
Display aspect ratio : 16:9
Frame rate : 25.000 fps
Resolution : 8 bits
Colorimetry : 4:2:0
Scan type : Interlaced
Scan order : Top Field First
Bits/(Pixel*Frame) : 0.309
Stream size : 31.4 MiB (93%)

Audio
ID : 4352 (0x1100)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : AC-3
Format/Info : Audio Coding 3
Duration : 16s 608ms
Bit rate mode : Constant
Bit rate : 448 Kbps
Channel(s) : 6 channels
Channel positions : Front: L C R, Surround: L R, LFE
Sampling rate : 48.0 KHz
Video delay : -80ms
Stream size : 908 KiB (3%)

Text
ID : 4608 (0x1200)
Menu ID : 1 (0x1)
Format : PGS
Duration : 16s 55ms
Video delay : -80ms


Dafydd
[Moderator]

This message was edited 4 times. Last update was at Apr 05. 2010 14:24

Honesty disclosure: CyberLink have provided me their software products at no charge.
Reply
James W
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Lakeland, FL USA Joined: Aug 18, 2008 10:36 Messages: 911 Offline
[Post New]
I tested your videos with my 2GHz Core2Duo Laptop. PD had no trouble playing your videos. The CPU usage was 75-80% consistently. I did not encounter any stuttering until I added one of your clip to the PiP track as well as the master video track. Q9300 2.5 GHz
4 GB Ram
Nvidia 9800 GT
Reply
NICOLAS
[Avatar]
Newbie Private Message Joined: Apr 03, 2010 10:30 Messages: 7 Offline
[Post New]
James, Dafydd,
Tons of thanks for your help. It MUST work then. Now I need to understand what is wrong... antivirus (I use MS Security Essentials) ? Disk transfer speed? I'll post here any useful progress.
Cheers.

This message was edited 1 time. Last update was at Apr 06. 2010 04:09

Reply
Andrew - Wales, UK
Contributor Private Message Location: Wales, UK Joined: Jan 27, 2009 19:16 Messages: 538 Offline
[Post New]
Hi Nicolas,

I tested your clips too - no issues at all!

When you are previewing a project in 'Edit', if the transition from one clip to another causes the second to playback in a jerky way, press pause and then play again. That usually works for me!

Dafydd has given you excellent advice. The members on here who have i7s and have had issues are, more often than not, 32 bit users. I have an i7 but use 64 bit Windows 7 with very few problems.

It's definately worth considering!

Cheers,

Andrew

Alienware Aurora ALX R4 - Intel i7-4820 4.2 GHz - 32GB DDR3 RAM - Crucial 512GB SSD - 1TB Seagate HDD - 3TB WD Green HDD - 4TB WD Green HDD - MSI NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB

Sony HDR-PJ810 and HDR-PJ530
Reply
James W
Senior Contributor Private Message Location: Lakeland, FL USA Joined: Aug 18, 2008 10:36 Messages: 911 Offline
[Post New]
I was using Vista 32bit on my laptop when I tested. Q9300 2.5 GHz
4 GB Ram
Nvidia 9800 GT
Reply
Andrew - Wales, UK
Contributor Private Message Location: Wales, UK Joined: Jan 27, 2009 19:16 Messages: 538 Offline
[Post New]
James,

My advice was based on i7s specifically. It was not a blanket generalisation for all processors.

Cheers,

Andrew Alienware Aurora ALX R4 - Intel i7-4820 4.2 GHz - 32GB DDR3 RAM - Crucial 512GB SSD - 1TB Seagate HDD - 3TB WD Green HDD - 4TB WD Green HDD - MSI NVIDIA GTX 1070 8GB

Sony HDR-PJ810 and HDR-PJ530
Reply
Reply to this topic
Powered by JForum 2.1.8 © JForum Team