Announcement: Our new CyberLink Feedback Forum has arrived! Please transfer to our new forum to provide your feedback or to start a new discussion. The content on this CyberLink Community forum is now read only, but will continue to be available as a user resource. Thanks!
CyberLink Community Forum
where the experts meet
| Advanced Search >
Why your CPU should run at 100%
jerrys
Senior Contributor Location: New Britain, CT, USA (between New York and Boston) Joined: Feb 10, 2010 21:36 Messages: 1038 Offline
[Post New]
In a previous life I was a system performance consultant for many, many years. 100% utilization (somewhat less, as a concession to queuing theory) is a goal. Ideally, you want all of the "servers" in a system to run flat out; otherwise you are wasting resources.

By "servers" I mean something quite specific in a theoretical sense: a server is something that serves a queue of transactions.

I don't want to get into the details, as the mathematics are very gnarly and I don't want to teach a couple of semesters on this; but here's a thumbnail sketch:

You want all of your servers (cpu, disk, memory, network, and user(s) are the most obvious) to be as close to 100% utilized as they can be while not increasing overall response time to an annoying degree. For an interactive system (where the users are the source of the transactions), that means that you want keystrokes and mouse clicks to be serviced instantaneously. Non-interactive transactions, such as producing a video, can generally tolerate a longer response time.